

## VFW Voice of Democracy Scholarship Listing

The \$1,000 Mr. and Mrs. John Biedrzycki and the 2015 Homecoming Committee Scholarship

The \$1,000 Commander-in-Chief Richard L. Eubank and 2010-2011 Department Commander's Scholarship (California)

The \$1,000 Department of Mississippi Toxie K. Stapleton Post 6473 Luther J. Cox Memorial Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Tennessee Cooper T. Holt - John Furgess Scholarship – Past Commanders-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$1,000 Ray Sisk Memorial Scholarship (California) – Past Commander-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$1,000 Department of Mississippi VFW and Auxiliary Bernard McClelland Memorial Scholarship – Past State Commander of Mississippi 1963

The \$1,000 Department of Idaho and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Hawaii and its Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Florida John M. "Jack" Carney Scholarship – Past Commander-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$1,000 Department of Nevada and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Kansas and Auxiliary Robert R. Whipple Memorial Scholarship

The \$1,000 Gilbert N. Nelson – Post 1326 and its Auxiliary – Bismarck, North Dakota, Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Maine Scholarship "To Remember the U.S.S. Maine"

The \$1,000 Department of Pennsylvania Joseph L. Vicites Memorial Scholarship – Past Commander-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$1,000 Arthur W. Jones VFW Post 7564 and Auxiliary Scholarship (North Dakota)

The \$1,000 Roy Chandler VFW Post 762 and Auxiliary Scholarship (North Dakota)

The \$1,000 Department of Wyoming and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,000 Fridley VFW Post 363 and Auxiliary Scholarship (Minnesota)

The \$1,000 Department of Michigan and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,000 Juanita Crowe-Durbino, Department of Tennessee Scholarship: Crowe-Durbino was a member of VFW Auxiliary Post 5154 in Maryville. She was a former Auxiliary Department of Tennessee President and VFW Auxiliary National President from 1993-1994.

The \$1,000 Ervin and Lorraine Rothenbuhler Scholarship (Maryland)

The \$1,000 All-American Post 284 Scholarship

The \$1,000 Bernard J. Michels Post 9610 and Auxiliary Scholarship (Florida)

The \$1,000 Larry W. Rivers Scholarship (Louisiana) – Past Commander-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$1,000 Department of Illinois Scott Post 4183 Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Connecticut and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,000 Stephen and Elsie Riordan Memorial Scholarship (New Jersey)

The \$1,000 Department of Georgia R. D. "Bulldog" Smith, Jr. Scholarship – Past Commander-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$1,000 Department of Ohio Chester J. Koch ("Cook") Memorial Scholarship: Koch coordinated patriotic activities in Cleveland, Ohio, for 55 years.

The \$1,000 Department of Alabama Scholarship

The \$1,000 Department of Georgia James H. "Sloppy" Floyd Memorial Scholarship: Mr. Floyd had served 21 years in the Georgia House and served in the Army Air Corps in World War II.

The \$1,000 Mr. and Mrs. James H. Black Scholarship (North Carolina): Mr. Black was a true patriot, always honoring and respecting his country and state, volunteering for the U.S. Army Air Corps, serving with the 15th Air Force in Italy in World War II and chaired the Mecklenburg County Selective Service (Draft) Board during the Vietnam War. Mr. Black was a founding member of VFW Post 4059 in Mint Hill, North Carolina, and later supervised construction of the Post home. He was elected Post Commander, District Commander, State Commander, and later National Council Member.

The \$1,000 Jane Young Memorial Scholarship (Ohio)

The \$1,000 Walter and Doris Marshall Memorial Scholarship (Montana)

The \$1,000 Southern Conference Scholarship

The \$1,000 Francis Tallman Memorial Scholarship

The \$1,000 Robert A. Stock Memorial Scholarship (New York)

The \$1,000 Department of New Jersey Howard E. Vander Clute Memorial Scholarship: He was VFW National Adjutant General from 1981-94, and VFW National Commander-in-Chief, 1979-1980.

The \$1000 Department of Illinois and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,500 Department of Arkansas and its Auxiliary Les Thone Memorial Scholarship: He was past Department of Arkansas Commander of the VFW, a member of the National Legislative Committee, and was on the Medal of Honor Commission for the state of Arkansas.

The \$1,500 Department of Colorado and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,500 Department of Massachusetts Edward A. Nardi Scholarship – Past Department Commander of Massachusetts

The \$1,500 Department of New Mexico and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,500 Department of Missouri and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$1,500 Department of New Hampshire Scholarship

The \$2,000 Department of Kentucky and Auxiliary Brian Duffy and Marion Watson Scholarship

The \$2,000 Department of Wisconsin, Wally Hogan/Tom Tradewell Commanders-in-Chief Scholarship

The \$2,000 Department of Illinois VFW – Ray Soden/George Cramer Scholarship – Past VFW Commanders-in-Chief of the VFW

The \$2,000 Department of California and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$2,000 Department of Arizona and Auxiliary Harry A. Kosht Memorial Scholarship

The \$2,000 Silver Spring Memorial Post 2562 Scholarship (Maryland)

The \$2,000 Jesse A. Lewis Memorial Scholarship Award (California)

The \$2,500 Troy and Sandy Rothbart Memorial Scholarship (New York)

The \$2,500 Daniel Sean Wallace Memorial Scholarship (New Jersey): Named in honor of the son of Commander-in-Chief & Executive Director of Washington, D.C. VFW Office Bob Wallace.

The \$2,500 Class 122 Department Commanders

The \$3,000 Joseph and Irene Hansen Memorial Scholarship (Maryland)

The \$3,000 Department of Indiana and Auxiliary Scholarship

The \$3,500 Department of New York Auxiliary/Reverend Albert G. Salmon Memorial Scholarship

The \$4,000 Department of Minnesota William F. Halsey Memorial Scholarship: William Frederick "Bull" Halsey Jr. was an American Navy admiral during World War II. He is one of four officers to have attained the rank of five-star fleet admiral of the United States Navy.

The \$5,000 Rehoboth Beach Post 7447 and Auxiliary Department of Delaware Scholarship

The \$5,000 Floyd County VFW Post 3281, New Albany, Indiana, Scholarship

(Fourth Place) – The \$7,000 LeRoy Moorhead Memorial Scholarship: Named for former heavy-weight boxing champion George Foreman's late father.

(Third Place) – The \$15,000 VFW Scholarship

(Second Place) – The \$21,000 Charles Kuralt Memorial Scholarship: For 25 years, Charles Kuralt enthralled national television audiences with his "On the Road" series on CBS. The series showed the lighter side of life, interesting characters and places. His show was the stuff of legend. Decades before "On the Road" began, though, Kuralt showed a glimpse of his future storytelling by winning the 1948 Veterans of Foreign Wars Voice of Democracy contest.

(First Place) – The \$35,000 VFW T. C. Selman Memorial Scholarship: The only Commander-in-Chief of the VFW to have died in office, T. C. Selman was elected VFW National Commander in 1980. He was from Texas.